< News and Updates

Sydney Marathon, presented by ASICS – Elite Marathon Preview

The Sydney Marathon presented by ASICS has announced the fastest and most decorated elite field for the 2023 Sydney Marathon, to be run on Sunday, 17 September. The field’s experience in World Championship and World Marathon Majors racing will make it the fastest marathon pack assembled in Australian history, with homegrown and international talent battling it out on the event’s new marathon course.   

The eighth-fastest marathoner ever, with a personal best of 2:03:00, Gabriel Geay (TAN) will headline the 2023 Sydney Marathon Men’s Field. Having placed 2nd at the 2023 Boston Marathon, he is the top seed at World Rank #9 in the field.  He will line up alongside Moses Kibet (KEN), Sydney Marathon’s defending champion and the current record holder for the fastest marathon time ever run in Australia.

Australia’s fastest ever marathoner, Brett Robinson (VIC), who broke Rob de Castella’s long-standing Australian Record in Fukuoka last year with a time of 2:07:31 will lead the homegrown elite field.

The 2022 World Marathon Championship runner-up and 2022 Paris Marathon Champion, Judith Jeptum Korir (KEN) will make her Australian debut at the Sydney Marathon, with a personal best of 2:18:20.  She will be chased by an impressive line-up of competitors who have recorded times under 2:23:00 including Nazret Weldu (ERI), Haven Hailu (ETH) and Angela Tanui (KEN) who has a blistering personal best time of 2:17:57. 

Australian Marathon record holder, Sinead Diver (VIC), who broke the Australian marathon record last year in Valencia with a time of 2:21:34 will lead the local elite field, making her Sydney Marathon debut for the first time in 2023.  

“We are thrilled to have assembled such a high calibre field for this year’s Sydney Marathon, as we head into our second year as a Candidate Race for the Abbott World Marathon Majors,” said Wayne Larden, Race Director, Sydney Marathon. “The presence of these exceptional runners is a testament to the event’s status as a world-class marathon for elite athletes, running enthusiasts and recreational runners alike, and we are confident that this year’s event will be nothing short of extraordinary.”


Gabriel Geay 2:03:00 Tanzania #9
Amdemework Walelegn 2:05:27 Ethiopia #22
Moses Kibet 2:05:20 Kenya #33
Brett Robinson 2:07.31 Australia #104
Abayneh Degu 2:04:53 Ethiopia #114



Judith Jeptum Korir 2:18:04 Kenya #3
Angela Tanui 2:17:57 Kenya #15
Nazret Weldu 2:20:29 Eritrea #16
Haven Hailu 2:20:19 Ethiopia #18
Sinead Diver 2:21.34 Australia #143


Sign up for the latest Sydney Marathon updates